

POST GRADUATE DEPARTMENT OF PHYSICS UNIVERSITY OF KASHMIR, SRINAGAR-06

A meeting of teaching staff members was held on November 09, 2013 under the chairmanship of Professor S. Javid Ahmed, Head, Department of Physics to discuss about the introduction of annual prizes in Physics for two teachers and four students proposed by Dr. Sultana Nahar, Department of Physics Astronomy, Ohio-State University, USA.

Regarding the above mentioned issue a threadbare discussion was held among the staff members of the Department and most of the bylaws framed by the sponsor, i.e., Dr. Sultana Nahar, were unanimously endorsed with some minor modification.

As per the proposal submitted by Dr. Sultana Nahar a total of six annual prizes are to be introduced: two for teachers amounting to Rs. 18,000/-each (one for teaching and one for research), two for undergraduate students studying physics as one subject amounting to Rs. 10,000/- each (one male and one female) and two for post-graduate/research level students amounting to Rs. 12,000/- each.

The terms and conditions for the prizes finalized after discussions are as under:

Teacher Prizes:

Two teacher annual prizes are to be introduced i) Sultana N. Nahar Prize for Distinction in teaching (without research guidance) and ii) Sultana N. Nahar prize for Distinction in research guidance (with research guidance for postgraduate/research students).

i) Sultana N. Nahar Prize for Distinction in teaching (without research guidance):

Nomination-procedure for this prize will be as under:

(a) Students votes will carry 90% weight. All the students of M.Sc. IVth semester will make one or more selection of physics teacher from the department from whom he/she has acquired maximum knowledge through class lectures and inspirational interactive discussions.

(b) The recommendation of the sponsor, Dr. Sultana N. Nahar or her representative will carry 5% weight. In the absence of the sponsor or her representative, the 5% will be added to the students top choice.

(c) The final 5% weight will come from the Chair of Physics Department, i.e., H.O.D, based on judgment on teaching of the nominated teachers. In case the Chair himself is also nominated the rest 5% will be decided by the prize committee overseeing the procedure.

(a) ii) Sultana N. Nahar Prize for Distinction in Research Guidance (for research guidance at postgraduate/research students): This prize shall be completely based on the research publications of the teacher in high impact factor Journals during the academic session.

Students Prizes:

Four Alburuj R. Rahman annual Prizes for student under two categories are to be introduced in the department **i)** two for best graduating (B.Sc.) students (one male and one female) **ii)** two for best post-graduate /research students

Alburuj R. Rahman annual Prizes for undergraduate students (one male one female):

a) As per directions given by the sponsor, the best bachelor students are to be evaluated based on the exam scores. At present there are around 20-30 undergraduate colleges affiliated to university of Kashmir in which a few of them are well-established having well equipped labs and libraries and at the same time other colleges are in shambles without proper labs; libraries and permanent teaching staff. Further the exams in B.Sc. are held at college level. Thus the outcome of such inconsistent learning environment, i.e., the final exam score in physics at undergraduate level cannot be granted as a yard stick for such a prestigious prize.

- b) Every year Kashmir University conducts PG entrance test in which hundreds of Graduate students with Physics as one of the subject appear. The outcome of this entrance test can be taken as a yard stick for nomination for the award. It was unanimously decided that ten boys and tens girls securing highest in this entrance test will be asked to give a presentation on any scientific topic in front of academic committee of the department. The purpose of such a presentation would be to access the understanding of physics concepts, and art of presentation of the student.
- c) The marks scored by students in the entrance test will carry 70% weight and rest 30% weight would be given to the presentation. Atleast, three members of academic committee should evaluate the presentation of the students.

Alburuj R. Rahman annual Prizes for postgraduate/research students:

1) At Postgraduate Level:

Would be awarded to the female student who will score highest marks in Ist, 2nd and third semester.

2) At Research Level:

This prize shall be completely based on the research publications in high impact factor Journals during the academic session.

Procedure for the Awards:

- (a) Award wining procedure should be initiated by the department two months before the end of the academic year.
- (b) A prize committee of five teaching faculty members will be formulated by the academic committee of the department. The prize committee will be responsible for initiation and delivery of the prizes on time.

- (c) All faculty members in the prize committee will be also eligible for the nomination.
- (d) A TEACHER ALREADY NOMINATED FOR ANY OF THE TWO AWARDS WILL NOT BE ELIGIBLE FOR NOMINATION IN THE NEXT YEAR.
- (e) The prize committee will decide a date for the voting to take place in the on-going classes in presence of a class teacher and member of prize committee.
- (f) All the students shall be informed in advance about the voting date and criteria of the choice and at the time of voting would be given slips to write the names of their choice.
- (g) These slips will be collected in an envelop and sealed with signatures of the teacher and award committee members.
- (h) The envelope will be opened by the prize committee to count the selections and for each prize, one or two (in case of close voting numbers) teachers with maximum votes will be nominated.
- (i) The chairperson of the physics department and the prize committee will approve one winner for each prize and send the names to the Board of Trustees headed by administration dealing with the prizes. The board of trustees will inform the winners and present formally the certificates and honoraria.
- (j) The board of Trustees for the these prizes in Physics will consist of Vice-Chancellor or Pro-Vice-Chasncellor of the University or the person in charge appointed by university, the Dean of Physical and Material Sciences, Head, Department of Physics and Sponsor Dr. Sultana Nahar. Any decision for the award can be made in presence of three members of the board and sponsor should be informed about the outcome.

Faculty Members of Department:

- 1. Professor S. Javid Ahmad
- 2. Dr. Manzoor Ahmad Malik
- 3. Dr. Shakeel Ahmad Simnani
- 4. Dr. Sajad Masood
- 5. Dr. Gowher Bashir Vakil
- 6. Dr. Basharat Ahmad Want
- 7. Dr. M. Farooq Mir
- 8. Dr. Naseer Iqbal
- 9. Dr. Waseem Bari
- 10.Mr. Muzaffar Qadir Lone
- 11. Dr. Nissar Ahmad
- 12. Dr. Sekh Golam Ali

Head of the Department

Vice-Chancellor