International Women's Day Symposium Celebrated ...



International Women's Day Symposium Celebrated

Home / AMU News / International Women's Day Symposium Celebrated

INTERNATIONAL WOMEN'S DAY SYMPOSIUM CELEBRATED

Aligarh, April 05, 2023 | Public Relation Office



Aligarh, April 5: The International Women's Day Symposium (IWD- 2023) was organized by Indo-US APJ Abdul Kalam STEM Education and Research Center of AMU in-collaboration with International Society of Muslim Women in Science in hybrid mode in the conference room of Department of Physics recently. In exercise to promote young female students to pursue science for higher education "YOUNG STEM CHAMPION COLLOQUIUM" was a major component in the symposium with speech and poster competitions. Students in large numbers participated from Senior Secondary School, AMU, and AMU Girls School.

The Chief Guest of the function, Prof Naima Khatoon, Principal Women's College reflected on her experiences and motivated young students to opt for STEM subjects

Prof Tauheed Ahmad (Director, STEM) and Prof Anil K Pradhan (Director, OSU) jointly gave the welcome address.

Prof Farukh Arjmand (Co-Director) spoke about the achievements of women scientists in the field of STEM. She stressed that more female students should take admission in science stream and pursues higher studies. Prof Sultana Nahar, OSU co-director gave a talk on "knowing about our galaxies and universe "and also highlighted the achievements of Muslim scientists and ISMWS.

Prof. Ekram Khan, Co- director briefed the audience about the recent ongoing activity of the center. The Guest of Honors of the function, Dr. Faiza Abbasi (Director, UGC-HRDC), Dr. Mohd Azhar Aziz (Director, Interdisciplinary Nanotechnology Centre) and Mrs Naghma Irfan (Principal, Sr. Secondary School Girls) also spoke on the occasion.

On behalf of ISMWS, founded by Prof Sultana N Nahar OSU, USA recognition awards were given to Prof Saba Beg, Dr. Orus Ilyas, Dr. Saleha Jamal, Dr. Huma Haider and Dr. Swaleha Naseem in the category of faculty members for their excellent contribution in scientific research. In young research scholar category; Ms. Mahroosh Fatema, Ms. Suffora Akhtar, Ms. Deepika Vashishtha, Ms Nargis Bano and Ms Narjis Fatima were felicitated.

Quick Links

Annual Report	AMU Gazette
AMU Special Centers	Academic Programmes Committee
Samarth Project Office	Campus Notices
Chemical Research Unit	Prof. M.N. Faruqui Computer Centre
<u>CPC</u>	<u>Directories</u>
Employee Services	<u>Facilities</u>
<u>Fikr-O-Nazar</u>	Green University Project
Heritage Cell	Intellectual Property Cell
Internal Complaints Committee	<u>IQAC</u>
Innovation Council	<u>IT Help Desk</u>
Jobs at AMU	<u>Maps</u>
<u>Musa Dakri Museum</u>	OSO-AMU
Purchase & Tenders	<u>RTI</u>
Transparency Officer	Search Profile
Tahzeeb-ul-Akhlaq	Tarana
Visitors	Website Committee
Web Mail	Women Education
Yusuff Ali Aquatics & Sports Complex	<u>Disclaimer</u>
Aligs Academic Enrichment Programme	Institutional Ethics Committee
Institutional Biosafety Committee	NEP Cell
Research and Development Cell	Estate Officer (Gazetted)

Court Election - Donor's Category











Copyright © 2020 Aligarh Muslim University Aligarh, India.

Design & Developed by : <u>AHA</u> <u>Technocrats</u>