

Dean Prof. El-sayed Fahim & Vice Dean Prof Tarek El-Araby:

College of Arts and Sciences

Sultana N. Nahar Department of Astronomy

McPherson Laboratory 140 W. 18th Avenue Columbus, Ohio 43210-1173

> Phone: 614-292-1888 FAX: 614-292-2928

Email: nahar.1@osu.edu

Website: $http://www.astronomy.ohio-state.edu/\sim nahar$

January 4, 2017

Ref: Clarification of the Physics prizes and defining the amount of honorarium of each prizes in Astronomy, Mathematics, and Physics prizes at Cairo University

Dear Professor Elsayed Fahim,

Physics Department, Faculty of Science

Assalamu alaikum.

Dean of Faculty of Sciecne:

Professor Lotfia El Nadi

Cairo University

Giza, 12613

To:

On November 6, 2016 yourself, Vice Dean Professor Tarek El-Araby, Professor Lotfia El Nadi and myself, discussed in your office about clarifying the total number of prizes in Physics and the amount of honorarium of each prize.

On December 17, 2016 at Cairo University library I agreed with the suggestion of redistribution of honorarium in Astronomy, Mathematics and Physics by Vice Dean Professor Tarek El-Araby.

Based on the discussions, I am attaching the proposed clarifications and modifications of the existing prizes in physics, and amount of honorarium in Astronomy, Mathematics, and Physics to be approved by the university Council. I may note that these changes and modifications are not in contrast to the existing guidelines for the prizes.

I would sincerely appreciate the approval and implementation of the changes.

With best regards,

Prof Sultana N. Nahar

Revision of the MOA for prizes in Physics, Astronomy and Mathematics

1. Sultana N. Nahar and Alburuj R. Rahman Annual Prizes in PHYSICS at Cairo University, Giza, Egypt

Total number of prizes in PHYSICS is 6:

I submitted to Vice Dean Professor Tarek M. El-Araby on November 10, 2016 the copies of earlier documents of the physics prizes submitted to the university in 2012, 2013, and in 2015. These documents should summarize that

- i) there are in total 6 annual prizes to be awarded in Physics,
- ii) the prizes are given from the profits of a total endowment fund of \$21000 that I gave in three installments.

The 6 prizes in Physics are:

- i) Sultana N. Nahar prize for Distinction in Research Publications and the Best Advisor for a faculty member,
- ii) Sultana N. Nahar prize for Distinction in Teaching for a faculty member,
- iii) Alburuj R. Rahman prize for the Best Ph.D. Thesis for a Ph.D. graduating student in male category
- iv) Alburuj R. Rahman prize for the Best Ph.D. Thesis for a Ph.D. graduating student in female category
- v) Alburuj R. Rahman prize for the Best M.Sc. Thesis for a M.Sc. graduating student in male category
- vi) Alburuj R. Rahman prize for the Best M.Sc. Thesis for a M.Sc. graduating student in female category

For the prize honorarium, it was assumed that i) the 2 faculty prizes will be given from the profit of \$10500 which is the half of the total endowment, and ii) the 4 student prizes will be given from the profit of \$10500 which is other half of the total endowment.

These information should clarify the issue of number of physics prizes to be given every year.

2. Defining the amount of honorarium for each prize in Astronomy, Mathematics and Physics:

At present each each Physics prize has an honorarium which is an approximate amount based on the profits earned from the endowment fund. The profits vary with the bank offer. Following our (Dean of Faculty of Science Professor Elsayed Fahim, Vice Dean Professor Tarek M. El-Araby, Professor Lotfia El Nadi and myself Professor Sultana N Nahar) discussion I propose, within the idea in the existing guidelines, a defined percentage to be used for each of the prizes.

Due to higher conversion rate for USD to Egyptian pounds in 2016, the endowment fund of \$10,000 for the four faculty prizes in Astronomy and Mathematics, yielded in 2016 a larger amount, about Egp.180000, much more than the existing endowment fund from \$21000 for prizes in Physics. I, Professor Sultana N. Nahar the sponsor of the prizes, found it very reasonable and agreed to the suggestion made by Vice Dean Professor Tarek M. El-Araby to combine all endowment funds together and distribute the available fund, from the profit of the total endowment, for the prizes such that the honorarium amount for a faculty prize is the same for all winning faculty members in Astronomy, Mathematics, and Physics, for a Ph.D.

degree prize the same for the Ph.D. graduated students in Physics and for a Masters degree prize the same for the Masters graduated students in Physics of the year. I am making the following distributions.

Out of the total profit earned from the total endowment fund for Astronomy, Mathematics and Physics prizes together, \$31,000 (original contributions), 90% will be used for the prizes and 10% will be kept for the increment of the endowment at the renewal of the invested certificates. The 10% plus any unused fund could be added directly to the existing investments at renewal or be used to open an additional investment certificate and treated as the part of the total endowment fund.

Out of the total fund, 90% of the profit, available for the prizes the distribution can be followed as:

- i) Each of the 6 faculty members (2 from Astronomy, 2 from Mathematics and 2 from Physics) will receive 12% of the total available fund adding to 72%
- ii) Each of the 2 Physics Ph.D. graduates will receive 9% of the total fund adding to 18%
- iii) Each of the 2 Physics M.Sc. graduates will receive 5% of the total fund adding to 10%

3. Certificate of Excellence for the prizes in Astronomy, Mathematics, Physics:

As mentioned in the accepted documents, the prize winners should receive certificates of excellence for their accomplishments. Each Certificate of Excellence should specify the name of the prize defined in the document. For research, a citation stating the title or topic of the research for which the winner is being recognized can be added.

The certificates can be issued by the respective Departments of Astronomy, Mathematics, and Physics and signed by both the Dean of the Faculty of Science and the Chair of the respective Department.

The certificates should be prepared and sent to the office of the Dean of Faculty of Science to be distributed at the graduation ceremony of the University.