

Professor Anwarul Azim Arif Vice Chancellor University of Chittagong Chittagong-4331, Bangladesh

August 30, 2011

Ref: Revised version of S.N. Nahar Awards in Physics

Dear Professor Arif,

Assalamu alaikum.

As you suggested I am submitting the revised and corrected proposal for the annual teaching and student awards in Physics in Chittagong University. The revisions were made after discussions with Physics Chairman Professor Adam Safiullah , faculty members of the Physics Department, Professor Jamal Islam, Treasurer, Registrar, you and myself on July 19, 2011. In addition to the two teaching awards in the original proposal submitted in 2008, a student award has been included with increment of Tk.3 lac to the original principle fund . Followings are the terms and conditions for the awards .

There will be two annual teaching awards for the i) S.N. Nahar Teacher of the Year (without research), ii) S.N. Nahar Distinguished Teacher of the Year (with research with M.Sc./Ph.D. students), both based on students choice of appreciation. Each award will consist of a Certificate of Recognition and an honorarium of Tk12,000. The honorarium is expected to increase with time.

Followings are the criteria of the awards.

i) S.N. Nahar Teacher of the Year – Nomination of this teaching award will have a 90% weight from students' votes. Each student will make one or

more selection of physics professors from whom he/she believes to have acquired maximum knowledge through class lectures and inspirational interactive discussions. Only the 3<sup>rd</sup> and 4<sup>th</sup> t year B.Sc. and postgraduate students will vote and but choose teachers from the first to the final years. The recommendation of the sponsor, Dr. Sultana N. Nahar or her representative will carry 5 % to the choice. In absence of the sponsor or her representative, the 5% will be added to the students choice. The final 5% will come from the teaching judgment of the Chair of the Physics Department. In the event the Chair himself or herself is nominated, the 5% will come from recommendation of the award committee overseeing the procedure.

- ii) S.N. Nahar Distinguished Teacher of the Year This award will be for a professor of physics with whom at least one student has carried out his/her M.Sc. or Ph.D. thesis research. General votes of the students, based on the same criteria as for the Teacher of the Year, will comprise 70% of the award nomination. 15% of the nomination will come from the research students. A research student will give x-points out of 7.5 based on his/her best learning and understanding of the research topic, and x-points out of 7.5 on his/her intellectual and encouraging interaction with the advisor(s). 5 points will be given for published or submitted research papers. Without any research paper, the advisor will have 1 point per research student (a maximum of 5 points for 5 or more students). If the number of students does not add up to 5, the Departmental Chair can give x-points out of maximum 5 on the judgment of research progress. The recommendation of the sponsor, Dr. Sultana N. Nahar, or her representative will carry 5% to the nomination. In absence of the sponsor or her representative, 5% will go to add the students' choice. The recommendation of the Physics Chair, based on the work in the research topic and student's grade, will carry the last 5% of the award nomination.
- iii) Near the end of the academic year but before the final exams, the university will send a notice to the Department to initiate the awarding process. The academic committee of the Physics Department will form

- an awarding committee of three or five faculty members, with at least two senior professors. All faculty members in the awarding committee are also qualified to be nominated.
- iV) The awarding committee will determine the date for voting to take place in on-going classes in the presence of the class teacher and one member of the awarding committee. Students will be informed about the criteria of the choice and be given slips to write the names on of their choices. These will be collected in an envelope and sealed with signatures of the teacher and award committee member. The envelope will be opened by the awarding committee to count the selections. The committee will send two nominations with maximum points to the Board of Trustees headed by the VC or the ProVC or the University personnel dealing with awards who will have the syndicate approve the awards. The Board of Trustees will inform and give the certificates and honoraria to the awardees.
- V) S.N. Nahar Student Scholarship This annual scholarship is for an undergrad student in Physics receiving Tk.1000/month for one year. A meritorious in financial need can receive this scholarship. A paragraph stating the financial condition and a recommendation letter from one of his/her class teacher are sufficient to apply. The Physics Chair and the same awarding committee for teachers awards can make the decision for the student and send the name to the Board of Trustees headed by the VC or the ProVC or the University personnel dealing with awards who will have the syndicate approve the scholarship. The Board will inform the student and university will pay the scholarship. The student will need to compete with other applicants each year.
- Vi) The Board of Trustees will consist of the VC or the Pro-VC or the person in charge appointed by the university, the Dean of Science, the Physics Chair and the sponsor Dr. Sultana N. Nahar, Any decisions for the awards can be finalized in presence of three members of the board and sponsor should be informed about the outcome.

- Vii) The sponsor, Dr. Sultana N. Nahar, will provide Tk.6 lac for the capital fund of the three awards, Tk.3 lac was given in 2008 and additional Tk.3lac was given to the VC on July 19,2011.
- Viii) The university will keep the capital under S.N. Nahar Physics Awards trust Fund. For higher interest rate the fund is expected to be deposited in a private bank. The interest of the capital will be used for the three awards, overhead expenditures and the rest will be added to the capital for sustenance and future increment of the honorarium.
- iX) For the teaching awards, the following options may apply.
  - i) A professor of the Physics Department will have the choice not to be part of the awarding recognition.
  - ii) The academic committee of the Physics Department will handle the awarding process and may modify or adjust the process, with consent of the sponsor, for improvement and promotion of the awards.

Best regards,

Sultana N. Nahar

Department of Astronomy

Sullacitivahar

The Ohio State University

Columbus, OH 43210, USA.

Tel: 1-614-292-1888, Fax: 1-614-292-2928

Email: nahar@astronomy.ohio-state.edu, nahar.1@osu.edu