

College of Arts and Sciences

Sultana N. Nahar Department of Astronomy

McPherson Laboratory 140 W. 18th Avenue Columbus, Ohio 43210-1173

> Phone: 614-292-1888 FAX: 614-292-2928 Email: nahar.1@osu.edu

Website:  $http://www.astronomy.ohio\text{-state.edu}/{\sim}nahar$ 

December 14, 2017

Ref: Sobhan-Safia awards for teachers and Alburuj R. Rahman awards for students

Dear Headmaster Saif,

Assalamu alaikum.

To:

Munshi Saif Ahmed

Gumta Ishakia High School

P.O. Iliotganj, Upjila: Muradnagar, Jila: Comilla

Headmaster

I am sending the revised Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) for the guidelines of annual teachers and students awards at Gumta Ishakia High School in Comilla. As discussed over the phone, the prize honorarium for the teachers have been changed to Tk.4000 due to low interest rate in Bangladesh. However, the honorarium for the students will remain the same as in the original proposal.

We also discussed that the distribution of prizes would start in 2017. Hence please go ahead with the students voting and selection of winning teachers and students. After I get the names of the winners, I will have the certificates ready and ask my nephew Sputnik to prepare the prizes.

With best regards,

Prof Sultana N. Nahar

## Memorandum of Agreement:

Annual Sobhan-Safia Awards for teachers and Alburuj R. Rahman Awards for students at Gumta Ishakia High School

## 1. Purpose:

To recognize and motivate teachers for excellent teaching skills in class and students for academic performance

Teachers play the most crucial role in giving knowledge and guidance to increase the number of graduating students with high quality education. There is always a limited number of top students in the class. Recognition will encourage them to continue their best effort for higher excellence. However, motivated teachers can uplift the standard of the whole class by better teaching, being more helpful and inspiring to students. These will benefit not only the top students but the whole class. Students, who are the direct beneficiary of knowledge, will be involved in the nomination of the teachers awards.

This award program will recognize annually three teachers for the best teaching effort and six students for the best academic performances.

## 2. Funding:

Prof. Sultana N. Nahar of the Ohio State University will sponsor the awards from her personal income every year.

## 3. Prizes:

There will be nine annual awards, 3 for teachers and 6 for students, as follows:

- i) Sobhan-Safia Best Teacher in Math and Science for classes IX-X
- ii) Sobhan-Safia Best Teacher in Commerce for classes IX-X
- iii) Sobhan-Safia Best Teacher in Arts and Humanities for classes IX-X
- iv) Alburuj R. Rahman student award for the 1st position in Class X
- v) Alburuj R. Rahman student award for the 2nd position in Class X
- v) Alburuj R. Rahman student award for the 3rd position in Class X
- iv) Alburuj R. Rahman student award for the 1st position in Class IX
- v) Alburuj R. Rahman student award for the 2nd position in Class IX
- v) Alburuj R. Rahman student award for the 3rd position in Class IX

Each award consists of a Certificate of Excellence and an honorarium. The certificates will be signed by the Chair of the School Committee and Headmaster of the school

The amount of honorarium for each teacher will be Tk.4000. The honorarium for each 1st position student will be Tk.2000, 2nd position student Tk.1500 and 3rd position student Tk.1000.

In case of two candidates who have received close total highest points under the same category, the selection committee may approve two winners for the award. In such case each winner will receive the same Certificate of Excellence and half of the honorarium.

### 4. The Prize Board of Trustees:

The Board will consist of the Headmaster, Chair of the School Committee, and sponsor Prof. Sultana N. Nahar.

For the best of motivation or encouragement, the school may suggest modifications or adjustment of the process, and any modification of the terms and conditions or relevant issues on the awards can be made with the consent from the sponsor.

### 5. Terms and Conditions for the prizes:

# A. Sobhan-Safia Best Teacher of the Year Awards for i) Math and Science, ii) Commerce, iii) Arts and Humanities:

### Selection Criteria:

Nomination of these awards will be based on the students learning in the class and teachers helpful interactions with students. Points are distributed as follows:

- 90% weight will come from general voting of the students where a student will write the name of the teacher from whom he/she learned the most of the subject materials in the class.
- -5% weight will come from the Headmaster on the basis of the regularity of the teacher, completion of syllabus and performance of the students
- 5% weight will come from the recommendation of the sponsor, Sultana N. Nahar, or her representative. In absence of the sponsor or her representative, the 5% will go to add to students top choice.

## B. Alburuj R. Rahman Awards for the students:

#### Selection Criteria:

- 95% of the score will come from the academic record
- 5% of the score will come from any extra-curricular achievements of the student

### 6. Evaluation Process:

Near the end of an academic year, the Headmaster will initiate the evaluation process by asking the academic committee of the school to form the award committee of three to five teachers. All teachers in the prize committee and the Headmaster are also eligible to be nominated.

Points from the student voting for each category of i) arts and humanities, ii) commerce, and iii) math and sciences will be collected. The voting can take place at the end or beginning of a class where students will write names of the teachers in three slips of papers, in each three categories, from he/she learned the most and put the slips in an envelope which will be sealed and signed. Points will be counted by the committee in a later meeting.

Teachers with largest number of points will be selected for the awards.

## 7. Prize Ceremony:

To honor the winners and inspire others to make the best effort, it is suggested that the award ceremony is held in combination with other events or in an event where the largest number of audience will be present, and publish the news of the winners in the university news media.