

DEPARTMENT OF PHYSICS AND ASTRONOMY WAYNE STATE UNIVERSITY DETROIT, MI 48202 USA

JOGINDRA M. WADEHRA, PROFESSOR TELEPHONE: 313-577-2740 FAX: 313-577-3932 e-mail: wadehra@physics.wayne.edu

April 4, 2016

Professor Sultana Nahar Department of Astronomy Ohio State University McPherson Laboratory 140 West 18th Avenue Columbus, OH 43210-1173

Dear Sultana:

I hope you are doing well at Ohio State University.

Once again, on behalf of Department of Physics and Astronomy, I thank you for your generosity in setting up multiple awards through Dr. Sultana N. Nahar Endowment at Wayne State University. We have identified prize recipients for the following three 2016 prizes:

- 1. Sultana N. Nahar Prize for Distinction in Teaching Physics and Astronomy.
- 2. Sultana N. Nahar Prize for Distinction in Research in Physics and Astronomy
- 3. Alburuj R. Rahman Prize for the Best Ph.D. Dissertation in Physics and Astronomy.

These awards will be announced and distributed during our annual Vaden Miles Memorial Lecture later this week on Thursday, April 7, 2016 at 4:00 PM in Bernath Auditorium at the David Adamany Undergraduate Library. We would like to invite you to this inaugural event so that you can distribute the prizes yourself. Please accept our apology in sending this invitation at such a late moment -- it took us a little extra time in identifying the appropriate recipients for these prizes. Hopefully, we will be better prepared next year. Please let us know at your earliest convenience so that we can make hotel and other arrangements as soon as possible.

For your information, this year's Vaden Miles Memorial Lecture will be given by Dr. Eugene Stanley of Boston University. The title of his talk is "Economic Fluctuations and Statistical Physics". We look forward to welcoming you back in your own Department of Physics and Astronomy.

Sincerely yours,

M bolemon

Jogindra^IM. Wadehra Professor and Associate Chair