2017 Vaden W. Miles Event Awards

Background of Vaden W. Miles and annual event

Richard J Barber Faculty Recognition Award

Recognition for significant contributions toward the progress of the Department of Physics and Astronomy.

Professor Christopher Kelly

Recent CAREER award from NSF has brought considerable acclaim and credit to the Department of Physics and Astronomy.

Professor Edward Cackett

Recent CAREER award from NSF has brought considerable acclaim and credit to the Department of Physics and Astronomy.

Dr. Sultana N. Nahar Endowed Prizes (3 awards)

Brief description of Professor Sultana Nahar (connection to WSU)

Sultana N. Nahar Prize for Distinction for Teaching in Physics and Astronomy
 For providing a better understanding of physics to a large group of students (best in class)

Professor Peter Hoffmann

2) Sultana N. Nahar Prize for Distinction in Research in Physics and Astronomy

To recognize a faculty member whose continuing and current research achievements are nationally distinguished

Professor Zhixian Zhou

3) <u>Alburuj R. Rahman Prize for the Best Ph.D. Dissertation in Physics/Astronomy</u> To recognize PhD student with the best PhD dissertation

Hsun-Jun (Ben) Chuang

Graduate Students

American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT)

Awarded yearly to outstanding physics graduate student teachers; excellence in teaching

Launa Asllanaj

Daniel R. Gustafson Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Award Awarded yearly to outstanding physics graduate student teachers; excellence in teaching

Renae Conlin

Emil and John & Mary Kaczor Endowed Graduate Teaching Assistant Award Excellence in teaching

Shiva Pokhrel

<u>James Kaskas Scholarship</u>

To support early graduate students in the Dept of Physics and Astronomy

Bekele Erko

<u>Gavin Lawes Memorial Scholarship</u> To encourage diversity of graduate students in the Dept of Physics & Astronomy at WSU

Rachael Merritt Doaa Taha

<u>Michael and Susan Green Scholarship</u> To encourage and support pre-PhD students in the Dept of Physics & Astronomy

Renae Conlin Zhoulfekar Mazloum

Undergraduate Students

Vaden W. Miles Undergraduate Award

The Vaden W. Miles Undergraduate Award is awarded once a year to outstanding undergraduate students in physics, astronomy and biomedical physics.

Peter Dahl Henry Edelman Dillon Fitzgerald Vaseem Khatari Karl Kratkiewicz Alyssa Messner Robert Morgan Rifat Sattar Hailee St. Louis Garrett Tuer

Undergraduate Endowed Scholarships

Maria Mitchell Endowed Scholarship

Abigail Bault

Maria Mitchell was the first American woman to work as a professional astronomer. Dr. Loretta J. Inglehart-Hopkins, one of our WSU alumni from the physics department was drawn to physics by her love of astronomy and she hopes that this scholarship will enable future students to pursue their interest to the fullest.

This scholarship fund is established to recognize scholastic achievement, to encourage continued progress, and to provide assistance to students in financing their education in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

<u>Professors Henry Bohm and Melbourne Stewart Endowed Undergraduate Scholarship</u> (Recognize Professor Mel Stewart in audience)

Shahira Baajour David Moutard

Professors Henry Bohm and Melbourne Stewart Endowed Undergraduate Scholarship has been made possible due to generous contributions from the Bohm family, relatives, WSU faculty, and friends of Professors Bohm and Stewart. Professor Bohm, a true friend and well wisher of the WSU Physics Department passed away on Feb 4, 2011. Professors Bohm and Stewart collaborated on autism research and published several papers.

This scholarship fund is established to recognize scholastic achievement, to encourage continued progress, and to provide assistance to students in financing their education in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Dr. Alvin M. and Harriet B. Saperstein Physics & Society Endowed Scholarship (Award may be presented by Sapersteins-Recognize them in audience)

Adam McKenna

Made possible due to generous contributions from the Sapersteins to recognize Dr. Saperstein's half century in the Wayne State Physics Department. Dr. Saperstein has made great contributions to both science and society. The purpose of this scholarship is to encourage and honor those students who also recognize the connection and importance of the relationship between science and society, and who use their scientific abilities to contribute to their community from the very beginning of their studies at Wayne State University.

This scholarship fund is established to recognize scholastic achievement, to encourage continued progress, and to provide assistance to students in financing their education in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

David Fradkin and Gerald Dunifer Endowed Planetarium Scholarship

(Award may be presented by Professor Gerald Dunifer, recognize him in audience)

Jake Miller

The donors, Dorothea Fradkin and Gerald Dunifer, have each been associated with the Department of Physics and Astronomy at Wayne State University for many years. The gift from Dorothea is in memory of her late husband, David M. Fradkin.

David Fradkin was a member of the Department of Physics and Astronomy for 29 years. For 10 years he served as chair of the department. David was a theorist, and his research activities covered the areas of nuclear physics, computational physics, and statistical physics.

Gerald L. Dunifer was in the department for 35 years, three of which were as the associate chair of the department. Gerald was an experimentalist who studied the electncal and magnetic properties of metals at low temperatures in strong magnetic fields.

Both David Fradkin and Gerald Dunifer were very interested in the astronomical component of the department and made contributions to enhance the role of astronomy within the department. Their contributions included the establishment of an astronomy laboratory, writing proposals for state and federal funding, obtaining university funding, overseeing the installation of observation domes on the roof of the Physics building, and overseeing the creation of a much larger and more sophisticated planetarium.
