All-Sky Automated Survey for Supernovae
News about ASASSN-23bd, the closest yet TDE discovered! (March 2024)
Jason Hinkle was awarded a NASA FINESST grant. (August 2023)
Kris Stanek was awarded a 2022 Guggenheim Fellowship. (April 2022)
Elias Aydi and Tharindu Jayasinghe were awarded 2022 NASA Hubble Fellowship. (March 2022)
ASAS-SN received a five-year, $1.5 million grant from the Sloan Foundation! (June 2021)
ASASSN-14ko was featured during the Winter 2021 AAS Meeting press conference! (January 2021)
Chris Kochanek and Kris Stanek received (virtually) their 2020 AAS Tinsley Prize. (January 2021)
Our ASAS-SN Citizen Science project is now up and running! (January 2021)
See more ASAS-SN News here.
ASAS-SN Publications and Public Data:

Papers | Telegrams | Transients | Transients on TNS | Citizen ASASSN | Twitter

Sky Patrol V1.0 | Sky Patrol V2.0 | Variable Stars | Photometry Database | Binary Stars

Telescope status live (via LCO webcams):

South Africa Chile Texas Hawaii

Our operations are partially funded by grants GBMF5490 and GBMF10501 .

We are also partially funded by 5-year grant (2021-2026).

Our telescopes are hosted by .

Our science is partially supported by NSF Grant AST-1908570.

ASAS-SN expansion was also possible with support from:

OSU Center for Cosmology and AstroParticle Physics ,
Peking University , Mt. Cuba Astronomical Foundation ,
the Chinese Academy of Science South America Center for Astronomy (CASSACA),
and the Villum Foundation (Denmark).
We thank George Skestos for his generous gift to Prof. Kochanek, partially used to expand ASAS-SN.

What is ASAS-SN?

The sky is very big: until recently, only human eyes fully surveyed the sky for the transient, variable and violent events that are crucial probes of the nature and physics of our Universe. We changed that with our "All-Sky Automated Survey for Supernovae" (ASAS-SN) project, which is now automatically surveying the entire visible sky every night down to about 18th magnitude, more than 50,000 times deeper than human eye. Such a project is guaranteed to result in many important discoveries, some of them potentially transformative to the field of astrophysics---think about ASAS-SN as the "SSST" - Small Synoptic Survey Telescope, complementing LSST and other time-domain projects by frequently observing the entire bright sky. Bright transients, Galactic and extragalactic, discovered early by our high-cadence survey, are especially valuable, as they are easy to study using relatively modest size telescopes.

See below our sky coverage plot for the last 365 days - we are frequently observing the entire sky!

ASAS-SN currently consists of 24 telescopes, distributed around the globe. ASAS-SN first unit, known as "Brutus", which also happens to be the name of the Ohio State mascot, comprises of four robotic 14-cm telescopes deployed at the Hawaii station of the Las Cumbres Observatory. ASAS-SN second unit, named "Cassius", also consists of four 14-cm telescopes deployed in Chile. In 2017, with support from the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation grant GBMF5490, we deployed additional 8 telescopes at two other LCO sites: "Cecilia Payne-Gaposchkin", deployed in South Africa, and "Henrietta Leavitt", deployed in Texas. In addition, using a combination of funds from Mt. Cuba Astronomical Foundation, the Chinese Academy of Science South America Center for Astronomy (CASSACA), and the Villum Foundation (Denmark), in 2017 the 5th ASAS-SN unit, "Bohdan Paczyński", was deployed in Chile. Finally, using funds from the Peking University and the Kavli Institute for Astronomy and Astrophysics (KIAA), in 2018 the 6th ASAS-SN unit, "Tian Shan", was deployed in China. All these telescopes allow us to survey the entire visible sky every night, and are making our network much less sensitive to weather conditions.


Chris Kochanek, Kris Stanek, Jack Neustadt, Dominick Rowan, Evan Jennerjahn,
Andrew Miller, Sydney Petz, Michael Tucker, John Beacom, Todd Thompson (Ohio State);

Ben Shappee, Jason Hinkle, Kyle Hart, Dhvanil Desai, Willem Hoogendam (IfA, Hawaii);

José Luis Prieto (Universidad Diego Portales; MAS);

Joseph Brimacombe (Coral Towers Observatory);

Subo Dong (KIAA-PKU);

Maximilian Stritzinger (Aarhus);

Laura Chomiuk, Jay Strader, Elias Aydi (MSU);

Anna Franckowiak (University of Bochum);

Ondřej Pejcha (Charles University);

Xinyu Dai (University of Oklahoma);

Katie Auchettl (University of Melbourne).

Our past collaborators include David Bersier, Jon Brown, Tom Holoien, Tharindu Jayasinghe, Adam Kawash, and others.

We thank Las Cumbres Observatory and its staff for their continued support of ASAS-SN: we truly could not do this without your help.

This homepage is maintained by Kris Stanek ( Updated March 2024

eXTReMe Tracker