

Mr. Riaz Parveg, Head Master Gandaria Mahila Samitee Government Primary School Gandari, Dhaka, Bangladesh

September 6, 2011

Ref: Introduction of Annual Sheikh Abdur Razzaque Best Student Awards and S.N. Nahar Best Teacher Awards in Gandaria Mahila Samitee Government Primary School t

Dear Mr. Riaz Rarveg,

My proposal for introducing the two teaching and three student awards at Gandaria Mahila Samitee Government Primary School was accepted by youself and other teachers present in the school on August 3, 2011 (see attached papers). This present writing is to type in the hand written proposal and make some editorial corrections. The five awards will be given under Abdur Razzaq and Shamsun Nahar Trust Fund for Education. Followings are the terms and conditions that we agreed upon.

- 1. The best three students, in the rank of 1st, 2nd, and 3rd, of the graduating class will be recognized with Sheikh Abdur Razzaque Best Student Awards. Each student will receive a certificate of recognition and a prize money of Tk.3000 for the1st, Tk.2000 for the 2nd and Tk.1000 for the 3rd positions respectively. In case of more than one student in the same position, each student will receive separate certificates, but share the money with the other student.
- 2. Two teachers, one in Math and Science and one in all other subjects will receive S.N. Nahar Best Teacher awards. An award will consist of a certificate and an honorarium of Tk.3000. These two teachers will be

nominated by the students votes based on their best learning experience. The votes will count 90% of the nomination. 5% of it will be sincerily judgment by the Head Master/Mistress. The rest 5% will come from the sponsor, Sultana N. Nahar or her representative. If she or her representative is absent, her 5% will be added to the students' choice for the nominations.

- 3. In case the Head Master/Mistress is nominated by the student votes, his/her 5% evaluation will be decided by the school committee president.
- 4. The voting will take place before the final exams of the academic year, The sponsor will provide the voting slips and envelopes. Students will be given two paper slips separately to write names of two teachers, in each category, from whom he/she has learned most in the class. They will fold the slips and drop them in the respective envelopes.
- 5. The Board of Trustees for the awards will consist of i) the Head Master/Mistress, ii) one school committee member, Moinuddin Ahmed, Mohammad Faysal, Baby (daughter of Sheikh Abdur Razzaque) and Sultana N. Nahar who will also be the chair of the board.
- 6. The sponsor, Dr. Sultana N. Nahar, will set up an account in a bank where she will put the principle fund. The interest of the principle will be used for the awards and relevant expenditures for the awarding process. Additional interest will be added to the principle.
- 7. The awards for the students and teachers will start in 2011.

Any new suggestion regarding the policies of the awards may be approved or adapted through discussions between the school teachers and the sponsor or her representative.

Sulfarestivahar

Sultana N. Nahar Dept of Astronomy, The Ohio State University Columbus, OH 43210, USA Tel: 1-614-292-1888, Fax: 1-614-292-2928 Email: nahar@astronomy.ohio-state.edu