## Introduction of S.N. Nahar Physics Trust Fund, RU

S.N. Nahar Physics Trust, RU plans to introduce two annual teaching awards, S.N. Nahar Physics Teacher of the Year and S.N. Nahar Distinguished Physics Teacher of the Year, and one student scholarship for the Department of Physics in Rajshahi University. The relevant points for these awards are:

S.N. Nahar Physics Teacher of the Year award will correspond to pure teaching and S.N. Nahar Distinguished Physics Teacher of the Year award will correspond to teaching with guidance for M.Sc./M.Phil./Ph.D. research. Both awards are based on students choice of appreciation. Each award will consist of Tk12,000 and a certificate of recognition. The award money is expected to increase with time.

Followings are the criteria of the awards:

**S.N. Nahar Physics Teaching of the Year Award** – Nomination of this teaching award will be based on the following points: 90%, from the students' choice, 5% from the recommendation of the Physics Chair, and 5% from the recommendation of sponsor, Dr. Sultana N. Nahar. A student can vote for one/more Physics teacher(s) from whom he/she thinks to have learned most through class lectures and inspirational interactive discussions.

The recommendation by the Physics Chair will be based on the punctuality or sincerity of the nominated teacher. In absence of Dr. Sultana N. Nahar, her representative will make the recommendation. In absence of her of her representative, the 5% will be added to the students' choice.

S.N. Nahar Distinguished Physics Teacher of the Year Award – This will be for a teacher with whom at least one student has carried out his/her postgraduate, such as M.S./M.Phil./Ph.D., thesis research. General votes of the students, based on the same criteria as for the Teacher of the Year Award, will comprise 70% of the award nomination. A research student's choice, based on his/her best learning and understanding experience of the research topic (7.5%) and intellectual and encouraging interaction (7.5%), will carry a total of 15% of the nomination. In case of more than one student working with the same supervisor, the points will be averaged. In case of joint supervision for the student, this number will be divided by the number of advisors the student will divide his 15 among the supervisors [If in practice say, one of his/her two supervisors does all or most of the supervision (s)he may give award all 15+0 or 13+0 or 10+2 points to his/her two supervisors. Recommendation by the Department Chair, based on the progress of the student(s) of the supervisor(s) in their research, will carry 5% of the award nomination. A published or submitted research paper will

add 5%. Otherwise the number of students working with an advisor will add to a maximum of 5% (2 points per student working, limiting to 10% for 5 or more). If this number is less than 10%, due to less than 5 students, it will be filled up by the Physics Chair. Recommendation of the sponsor, Dr. Sultana N. Nahar, or her representative will carry 5%. In absence of the sponsor or her representative, 5% will go to add the students' choice.

**S.N. Nahar Student Scholarship** – This annual award, divided as Tk.1000 per month, is a need based merit award for an undergrad student. A student in financial hardship but is in the top 5th rank in the class, may apply for this award with a paragraph explaining the situation. He/she will need a supporting letter from a teacher with whom the student has taken or is taking a class. The student will need to compete with other students for the award each year.

The board of trustees of S.N. Nahar fund will comprise of the Dean of Science, Chairman of the Physics Department, Sultana N. Nahar and two senior teachers nominated by the academic committee for three years.

Around November 1<sup>st</sup> every year, the awarding process will start. The department academic committee will form a teaching awards committee of five faculty members including two members of the board of trustees which will fix a date, carry out the voting and send the final nominations to the chair of the board of trustees. All faculty members of the awarding committee are also qualified to be nominated. Voting should take place during an on-going class in the presence of one member of the awarding committee and the class teacher. Students will be informed of choice criteria and given slips to make their choices. The filled up slips collected from each class will be sealed in an envelope with signatures of the class teacher and the member of the Award Committee. The envelopes will be opened by the awarding committee to count the votes. The chair of the board of trustees will present the nominations to the board for final approval.

Any teacher of the Physics Department will have the choice not to be included in the awarding recognition.

The sponsor, Dr. Sultana N. Nahar, will provide Tk. 5 lac for the capital fund of the three awards. The department will keep the capital fund under S.N. Nahar Physics Trust, RU. For a higher interest rate the fund is expected to be deposited in a private bank. The interest of the capital will be used for the three awards and overhead expenditures. The rest of the interest will be added to the capital for sustenance and future increment of the award money.

Selection method for the Teacher of the Year

Students from 4<sup>th</sup> year B.Sc. and M.S. will participate in the nomination process. Each student will write up to 5 names of teachers of his/her choice who have taught him/her in different classes from 1<sup>st</sup> year through final year. The name of teacher getting the highest number of points from votes and other criteria will be selected for the nomination for the award.

## Selection method for the Distinguished Teacher of the Year

A teacher with whom at least one student has carried out his/her postgraduate, such as M.S./M.Phi/Ph.D., thesis research will be nominated for this award. In addition to the votes collected for the Teacher of the Year, research students from M.S./M.Phil/Ph.D. will participate in this nomination process.

As mentioned above, for the Teacher of the Year, each student will nominate up to 5 teachers of his/her choice from teachers who have taught him/her in different classes from  $1^{st}$  year through final year. However, the research students will have one additional slip to nominate his/her research supervisor for the distinguished teaching award. This additional slip will be collected in a separate envelope. On the slip, the student may put points, such as, x/7.5 for research progress and for understanding, and y/7.5 for useful interaction, put the total point out of 15. The awarding committee should verify the number of students working with each research supervisor and corresponding voting slips.

The final calculation of the total points will be carried out by two faculty members not involved with any student research. The calculation should be a completely confidential process within the awarding committee members.

The academic committee of the Physics Department will handle the awarding process and may modify or adjust the process, in consent with the sponsor, for convenience, improvement and promotion of the awards. Any new suggestion regarding the policies of the awards may be approved or adapted through discussions between the Department academic committee and the sponsor or her representative.

Best regards,

Sultana N. Nahar Department of Astronomy The Ohio State University Columbus, OH 43210, USA

Tel: 1-614-292-1888, Fax: 1-614-292-2928 Email: nahar@astronomy.ohio-state.edu